Sign me up for updates - CLICK HERE

You are here

Joe Bonansinga Award

Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award

Each year, United Way of Adams County and Rotary Club of Quincy present the Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award to an individual who exemplifies the highest standards of community service. Named after its first recipient in 1998, the award honors exceptional community leaders who demonstrate:
  • A high level of service and leadership by example.

  • An intensity of energy in their work that invigorates and inspires others.

  • Longevity of service and work that nurtures the community.

  • Choosing commitments based on the needs of others and the benefit to the community 

  • The true joy of helping others.


Joe, pictured under the goal banner from the 1997 United Way Campaign, was the first chairman to lead a campaign that exceeded the $1,000,000 mark. Near the close of the campaign, he inspired campaign volunteers to reach the goal saying, "Anything less is not acceptable for this community." His leadership and vision still inspire us today.
Do you know someone whose service to the community makes them an outstanding volunteer leader? Submit them for nomination for the 2020 Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award. CLICK HERE to download the nomination form.

Nominate someone you know for the 2020 Joe Bonansinga Award

The Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award will be presented at a Noon Rotary Club Meeting, which is held at the Quincy Holiday Inn (4821 Oak), at a date that is TBD. Special thanks to the Rotary Club for hosting the award presentation.


For more information on the award or nomination process, please call United Way at 217-222-5020.


Past recipients

  • 2010: Kathy Ridder

  • 2011: Dr. George Meyer

  • 2012: Terry Myers

  • 2013: Becky Albert

  • 2014: Michael D. Klingner

  • 2015: Brad Billings

  • 2016: Paul Brown

  • 2017: Jeff Spear

  • 2018: Mike Elbe

  • 2019 Charlie C. Doan